lemon almond (gluten free) biscotti

As I’m drafting this up I’m realizing I haven’t posted in a whole week! Yikes! This just proves how busy I was even if it was only for a few days. I was in and out of the city (keep in mind it takes me between 2&2.5 hours one way) three times in the past week for interviews and catching up with some friends and then on top of that I was in Philadelphia for the weekend having a cousin’s night out – all of which was fun and productive. So when I came back to my boring unemployed life I was a bit sad that I had nothing to keep me busy, craziness I know.

Anyway, I have been wanting to try and make a gluten free biscotti recipe. If you are gluten free, don’t you find that some baking recipes are extremely tedious and high maintenance and expensive if you don’t have 8 different kinds of flour? This is the second time I have made something delicious just by replacing all purpose flour with all purpose gluten free flour – so simple and affordable to replace one ingredient for one ingredient.

Here is the recipe I followed from my new favorite Giada,

Ingredients

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour I substituted with all purpose gluten free flour
  • 3/4 cup cornmeal I used almond meal simply because cornmeal was not in the cabinet
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons grated lemon zest (from about 3 to 4 lemons)
  • 3/4 cup coarsely chopped whole almonds
  • 18 ounces white chocolate chips I only dipped half of mine in chocolate to have a healthier and more indulgent option

Directions

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, cornmeal, baking powder, and salt.

In another large bowl, beat the sugar and eggs with an electric mixture until pale yellow, about 3 minutes. Mix in the lemon zest and then the flour, and beat until just blended. (The dough will be sticky). Stir in the almonds. Let the dough rest for 5 minutes.

Divide the dough evenly into 2 equal mounds and place on the prepared baking sheet. With moist hands, space the dough evenly apart and form into 2 (9 by-3-inch) logs. Bake for 35 minutes until lightly browned. Cool for 5 minutes. Using a serrated knife, cut the logs crosswise into 3/4-inch-thick diagonal slices. Arrange the biscotti cut side down on the same baking sheet. Bake until the cookies are pale golden, about 25 minutes. Let cool completely.

Place the chocolate chips in a medium bowl. Place the bowl over a pan of simmering water, making sure the bottom of the pan does not touch the water. Stir until the chocolate is melted and smooth. Dip the end of each biscotti in the chocolate. Transfer the dipped biscotti to a wire rack, set over a baking sheet, until the chocolate has hardened. Store in an airtight container.

Find a link to the full recipe from Food Network here.

2 thoughts on “lemon almond (gluten free) biscotti

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 609 other followers

